The Hellenic Aviation Authority has announced new rules for traveling to Greece, coming into force from 06:00 Monday, January 10, 2022 and valid until Monday, January 24, 2022.

The new rules are:

All travelers older than 5 years old, regardless of nationality and vaccination status, must have been tested negative by PCR within the last 72 hours or alternatively to have been diagnosed negative in a rapid test within 24 hours before their arrival in Greece.

Travel ban for citizens of countries other than EU and Schengen countries, including their spouses and children, remains in force.

From the travel ban are excluded passengers traveling for essential reasons and permanent residents of the following 42 countries:

Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, New Belarus, Bahrain, South Bahrain , Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldavia, Moldavia, Moldavia, Moldavia, Moldova , Argentina, India, Uruguay, Sultanate of Oman, Chile, Mexico, Kosovo and Chinese Taipei.

All travelers to Greece, regardless of nationality, must fill in the electronic form PLF (Passenger Locator Form), available at any time before departure.

Proof of completion of the PLF form, which is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger, is considered a necessary travel document.

All travelers arriving in Greece, regardless of the certificate in their possession, may be subject to random obligatory molecular test (PCR) for COVID-19 or Diagnostic Rapid Antigen Test for COVID-19 (Rapid Test). In case of refusal, the authorities reserve the right to refuse entry into the country. The selection is made through a system of targeted sampling with the application of a health algorithm for the best epidemiological observation and shielding of the country, used since summer of 2020.

In case of positive result, the passenger will need to isolate for five days, at home or in a suitable place of temporary residence indicated by the authorities.

After five days and if there are no symptoms or the symptoms have improved, isolation ends. If the fever persists after five days, isolation is extended until the fever has completely subsided.

Residents of Argentina, Russia, India, Uruguay, Sultanate of Oman, Mexico and Chile must be tested at the airport regardless of their vaccination status.

Unvaccinated passengers on flights from Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Bulgaria, Brazil, Georgia, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, India, India, China, Pakistan, Russia and Turkey, regardless of their nationality, will be required to do a mandatory molecular test (PCR) or diagnostic Rapid Antigen test for COVID-19 upon arrival.

The use of a face mask is mandatory both outdoors and indoors.