The Ministry of Education, in collaboration with the China Education Association for International Exchange (CEAIE), the national educational association for internationalization of the People’s Republic of China, is launching a new cooperation programme between Greek universities and universities in China. This initiative is similar to those already launched with the European Union, the United States and the United Kingdom.

The aim of the cooperation programme is to bring the Universities of Greece and China closer together in order to initiate synergies such as the creation of joint study programmes, the exchange of students, the learning of both languages in both countries. Furthermore, the participation of foreign students in foreign language and summer programmes in Greece, the strengthening of cultural exchanges, the preparation of joint educational and research programmes, along with other forms of cooperation that the Universities themselves will choose.

Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) were signed between the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Xi’an Jiaotong University, and the University of Patras with Fujian University of Technology.

The inaugural event at the Greek Ministry of Education

Speaking at the inaugural event, Minister of Education and Religions Niki Kerameos referred to the high academic level of Greek universities, which creates a fertile ground for synergies with universities abroad, including China. She also stressed the link between ancient Greek and ancient Chinese civilization, as cradles of Western and Eastern civilization respectively.

The inaugural event was virtually held with the participation of the Minister of Education Ms. Niki Kerameus, the Deputy Minister of Education Mr. Aggelos Syrigos, the General Secretary of Higher Education Mr. Apostolis Dimitropoulos, the Ambassador of Greece to China Mr. George Iliopoulos, the President of  CEAIE MrLiu Limin, the Ambassador of China to Greece Mr. Xiao Junzheng, the CEO of “Study in Greece” Mr. Christos Michalakelis, as well as academic representatives of higher education institutions of both countries.